Currently 140 Tralirs

Author Topic: New Player Guide  (Read 876 times)


  • Keeper
  • *
  • Posts: 196
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
    • The Citadel
New Player Guide
« on: November 26, 2019, 02:35:57 PM »
Good day,

Welcome to Exonia! We are pleased that you are going to invest your time into our beloved world. We are grateful to have you and hopefully you will enjoy yourself in our world.

This guide will help you through the process of creating your own character. Any questions? Poke one of the staff and they gladly help you!

Most of the information is presented in the Introduction area in the thread of Welcome to Exonia. However, there is additional, vital information that you and your character will need in order to get started. Let's begin, shall we? ;)

The basics

You will need to create an original character from your own imagination. All characters start in the City of Alderworth, where they were born and raised.

You will need an image to show other players what your character looks like. Photos or digital images of actors, game characters, and such are allowed. However, we encourage you to avoid using such images and instead create custom generated avatars. You can find more information in the
Face Claim topic.

You will need to provide your character with a background. There is an optional character template you are free to use, which can be found in Character Template.

For magic spells you can use maximum of five spells, they can be found here with starting character only Cantraps, Tier 1 & II are allowed!. The following skills can be added to your list, do know that you can take four skills, to begin with. When growing in rank and experience you will be allowed to take a fifth skill.

Character Class

This has been given some attention in the welcome thread, but basically your character can start in the following class:
  • Fighter Brave and stalwart, the fighter is a master of all manner of arms and armor. And this is a really long description that definitely goes over onto another line. Fighters are allowed to use medium or heavy armor if they desire.
  • Rangers A tracker and hunter, the ranger is a creature of the wild and of tracking down his favored foes. Rangers are allowed to use light and medium armor if they desire.
  • Rogue The rogue is a thief and a scout, an opportunist capable of delivering brutal strikes against unwary foes. Rogues are allowed to use light armor if they desire.
  • Sorcerers The spellcasting sorcerer is born with an innate knack for magic and has strange, eldritch powers. Sorcerers are allowed to use light armor if they desire.
  • Druids The druid is a worshiper of all things natural – a spellcaster, a friend to animals, and a skilled shapechanger. Druids are allowed to use light armor if they desire.
  • Artificer The Artificer is a class with a tool for every job and a solution to every problem. Artificer is allowed to use medium or heavy armor if they desire.
  • Paladin The paladin is the knight in shining armor, a devoted follower of law and good.
  • Cleric A devout follower of a deity, the cleric can heal wounds, raise the dead, and call down the wrath of the gods.
For now, these are the only permitted classes. We do this because the community is still small, fragile, and has some unknown areas that still need to be developed. When you use a certain class, there is the option to become a member of a guild, this will give you perks like ranking in adventures, access to complex spells and such. Note: your new character begins at the starting rank! Experienced guild members require staff approval.

These require staff permission:
  • Bard The bard uses skill and spell alike to bolster his allies, confound his enemies, and build upon his fame.
These are forbidden:
  • Wizard The wizard masters magic through constant study that gives him incredible magical power.
  • Warlock Practicing magic in secret, the warlock obscures her arcane scholarship from public view. Her study of these arts allows her to hide her dual nature and enchant her enemies—or simply blast them with furious magical attacks.

Guilds and Adventures

There are four main guilds present in Alderworth, which provide support and offer quests, for their own ends or in the name of the city administration. Guilds can be used for research, as they are filled with books, for trading wares, for buying or making fighting gear, or for training your character.

A preferred guild is a good place for your character to interact with others, especially early on. The guild is also where one gets quests from the guild master. It also works as a safety net; guild members have your back when a quest goes wrong.
The following guilds can be found in Alderworth:
  • Marblevale: The mages’ guild within Alderworth. They possess the knowledge and are constantly researching magic and everything related to it.
  • Sunbrawlers: The fighters’ guild within Alderworth. They are trained and experienced warriors that are used for difficult missions that need a human touch.
  • Brightlanders: The merchants’ guild within Alderworth. They have the skills and tools to travel long distances. They hold the archive of the world map of Exonia and all the data they find on their expeditions.
  • Shadowshapers: This is a thieves’ guild that is not recognized by the city as an official guild due to their corruption and dirty work. They do their own missions and while they don't work under the same ranking system, the game staff will handle their mission proposals the same way.
More details on each can be found on the faction pages.

Characters may register at either their respective guilds or, if they choose not to be part of a guild, then at the Alderworth Guards’ Center. Adventurers cross the land of Exonia to complete the quests that are given out by the city or the guilds. Their goal is to complete any quests and gain experience and money from them.


Within the Realm of Exonia, you can gain ranks or reputation, which permits you access more difficult missions with better rewards. Community events (when they happen) will be standard difficulty and require a dedicated and experienced team to pull off. Want to gain a higher rank, then do more missions.

There is no need to wait for the staff to post a mission, as you can propose one yourself at  OOC & Plot Planning and see if you gain any interest for your story/mission. The staff will rank the story and if it's too difficult or you won't get any players for it, then the staff will ask you to lower your danger rate (i.e. edit your summary to make it a bit easier).

Ranks are as followed by the number of missions needed to level up:
  • Bronze - 0>5 missions completed
  • Silver - 5>15 missions completed
  • Gold - 15> 50 missions completed
  • Platium - 50>100 missions completed
  • Diamant - 100+ missions completed
Keep in mind, if you abandon a mission or fail a mission, you risk losing your mission count in the rank system. If you fail three missions on a row, you will automatically be reduced to a lower rank. If for whatever reason, the gamemaster is gone you won't lose any mission counts.
« Last Edit: January 31, 2020, 09:15:06 PM by RaWolfe »